Things of the Week 10/05/16

Listening to: Lady Gaga. In a recent episode, the hosts of Switched On Pop fall down a musical rabbit hole describing the ways in which Gaga’s music depicts both the “fame” and the “monster,” (complete with aural comparisons to Phantom of the Opera) and I’m like

//giphy.com/embed/95ZYXmOCd9BBK

via GIPHY

Drinking: Decaf cardamom lattes at Annex Coffee House and Bakery

Teaching: Comparison essays, using Riz Ahmed’s excellent essay as an example:

“Typecast as a Terrorist” by Riz Ahmed, September 15, 2016 on The Guardian 

Yes, this: Recently, I read Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale for the first time, and after I finished I swirled with all the implications for modern society. Then, someone took all the things I was swirling about and put them in one essay, and it is awesome.

Is ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ A Prophecy of America’s Future?” by Laura Beans, 9/28/16 on The Establishment

Discovering: great literary organizations in Montana:

Helena Area Literary Arts  and Tell Us Something 

Purchased: an iPhone 7. (see Gif above) This will be the first time that when my phone was eligible for an upgrade I purchased the newest model of the iPhone available. I’m expecting that the jump up from my iPhone 5s will feel significant.

Leave a Reply

