Things of the Week

I listened to a podcast yesterday from Note to Self called “What Happens When We Skimm the News.”  The episode is part of their Infomagical Project which addresses information overload. In the first half of the episode host Manoush Zomorodi talked to the creators (Carly Zakin and Danielle Weisberg) of The Skimm, a news-focused email newsletter. In the second half of the episode Zomorodi talked with New York Times writer John Herman. By contrasting these discussions, Zomorodi presented what I took to be a “quantity vs. quality” debate as it applies to the Attention Economy.

This got me thinking about how I consume information. I appreciate quality, but I admit that I’m guilty of seeking out quantity in fear of missing out. After listening to the podcast I did subscribe to The Skimm and realized that I package information (or seek out packaged information) all the time.

So, I’ve decided to start a series of posts, as much for myself as for anyone else who is interested. I consume or engage with different ideas and inspirations all the time–more than I can remember. I’d like an archive of these discoveries to return to when I’m like,”What was that thing I read about the sloths at the circus?”

I’m calling this Things of the Week, somewhat inspired by Pop Culture Happy Hour’s “Things Making Us Happy This Week” except my list may include things that are neutral or slightly less than happy, as well as things unrelated to pop culture (but let’s be real, there’s probably going to be a fair amount of stuff about pop culture). With that, my inaugural Things of the Week:

Nostaligia: Hermoine Granger and Matthew Crawley making me feel like a little girl again. 

Subscribed: The Skimm

First Time: Hosted my own yard sale

Bingeing: Weeds Season 4 (second time around), Scandal Season 2 (first time around)

Reading: Rooms by Lauren Oliver, Finding Water by Julia Cameron

Researching: fitness wearables, sailing, Meyers-Briggs Personality Types

Catching Up On: The Mindy Project, New Girl

Current Obsession: Tumblers with Straws, Sparkling Water, Infused Water, Infused Sparkling Water

Yoga Intention: Staying in the present

Looking Forward to: dinner with friends, lunch with friends, trip to Yellowstone Nat’l Park

Fun Brain Injury Side Effects: replacing the word “mosquito” with words that begin with “z.” Examples: “You can use it to keep away zucchinis,” and “They have bigger zebras than we do here.”

 

 

4 thoughts on “Things of the Week

Leave a Reply

